RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For more than two decades, citizens of Grand Prairie
- 2 have taken part in an annual Cinco de Mayo celebration that has
- 3 become a treasured tradition in the community among people of every
- 4 ethnic heritage, and in the year 2010, the city's residents will
- 5 once again join together for this notable occasion; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Sponsored by a number of local businesses and
- 7 organizations, the event pays tribute to this significant date in
- 8 history while positively impacting the lives of area students
- 9 through the donation of scholarship funds; and
- 10 WHEREAS, This year's celebration would not be possible
- 11 without the hard work and dedication of its notable Cinco de Mayo
- 12 Committee of Grand Prairie members, who once again have set as their
- 13 goal making this popular event the best ever; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Cinco de Mayo commemorates the stunning victory
- 15 achieved by Mexican troops over an invading French army at the
- 16 battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862; led by General Ignacio Zaragoza
- 17 Seguin, an untrained militia of some 4,500 Mexicans routed 6,500
- 18 French soldiers, considered to be among the best military troops in
- 19 the world; and
- 20 WHEREAS, In celebrating Cinco de Mayo, we honor the ideals of
- 21 freedom and self-determination and the willingness to take on
- 22 seemingly overwhelming odds in behalf of a worthwhile cause, and it
- 23 is a pleasure to join the citizens of Grand Prairie in observing
- 24 this proud day in Mexican history, a day whose significance

- 1 continues to speak to people around the world; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize the 23rd annual Cinco de Mayo
- 4 Celebration in Grand Prairie and extend to all those involved
- 5 sincere best wishes for a memorable event.

Alonzo

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 330 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House