H.R. No. 331

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Benito Juárez, who was instrumental in bringing 2 sweeping changes to Mexican government and society during the 3 mid-19th century, was born on March 21, 1806; and

WHEREAS, A Zapotec Indian and native of Oaxaca, Sr. Juárez was a teenager when he gained the patronage of the family in whose home his sister was working as a servant; tutored privately at first, he graduated from the Franciscan seminary in Oaxaca in 1827 and received a law degree from the Institute of Science and Art in 1834; and

10 WHEREAS, Sr. Juárez was attracted to politics at an early age 11 and spent virtually all of his adult life either in government or 12 waging opposition; he served as a city councilman for Oaxaca from 13 1831 to 1833, during which time he strongly supported Indian 14 rights, and in the 1840s he served as a civil judge and federal 15 deputy; from 1847 to 1852 he held the governorship of Oaxaca; and

16 WHEREAS, Driven into exile when Antonio López de Santa Anna 17 came to power in 1853, Sr. Juárez joined the successful 18 revolutionary movement against him; after Santa Anna himself was 19 forced into exile, Sr. Juárez became minister of justice; while 20 serving in that post he was responsible for a law that limited the 21 jurisdiction of church courts to ecclesiastical cases; and

22 WHEREAS, After serving again as governor of Oaxaca, Sr. 23 Juárez became minister of the interior in November 1857 and the next 24 month took office as chief justice of the Supreme Court; when a

1

H.R. No. 331

1 military coup deposed the government, he declared himself 2 president, in accordance with the constitutional line of 3 succession, and led the victorious resistance to the usurpers in 4 the Reform War of 1858-1861; and

5 WHEREAS, Sr. Juárez assumed the presidency officially in 6 1861; soon, however, he found himself fighting the French, who 7 captured Mexico City in 1863 and set up a puppet regime; once again 8 Sr. Juárez and his troops prevailed, with the United States clearly 9 favoring their cause, and in 1867 he was again elected president; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Plagued with numerous difficulties throughout his 12 final term, Sr. Juárez died in office on July 17, 1872; in 1888, the 13 city of El Paso del Norte was renamed Ciudad Juárez in his honor; 14 and

15 WHEREAS, Notwithstanding the difficulties of his final 16 years, Benito Juárez remains a towering figure in the history of 17 Mexico; he was instrumental in the transfer of political power from 18 creoles to mestizos, in asserting the authority of civil law, and in 19 preserving the nation's autonomy in the face of foreign invasion, 20 and it is a privilege to honor the memory of this national hero; 21 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of the esteemed Mexican statesman Benito Juárez on March 21, 2010, the 204th anniversary of his birth.

Alonzo

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 331

H.R. No. 331

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 331 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House