H.R. No. 332

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Crystal City student walkout, during the winter of 1969-1970, stands as one of the most successful Chicano boycotts in the history of the Southwest; and

WHEREAS, Beginning in the spring of 1969, Chicano students at 4 5 Crystal City High School began to present school authorities and the school board with a series of demands intended to redress a long 6 7 history of discriminatory practices against Chicano students; on December 9, 1969, after the school board had repeatedly resisted 8 9 dealing with the majority of the students' grievances, a number of Chicano students at the high school began a well-organized boycott 10 11 of their classes; led by Severita Lara, Mario Treviño, and Diana Serna, the boycott grew daily and even spread to the junior high and 12 elementary schools; by the time the schools closed for the 13 14 Christmas holidays, between one-half and two-thirds of all the students in the city's public schools were boycotting their 15 16 classes; and

WHEREAS, The student walkout in Crystal City served as a galvanizing force in organizing the Chicano residents of that town and the surrounding area; the influence of the boycott became manifest not only in the fairer treatment that Chicano students received in the schools of Crystal City but in the dramatic new political power that Chicano citizens came to exercise in certain communities of South Texas; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 332
1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 40th anniversary of the Crystal
2 City student walkout and commend all who work to create a more just
3 and inclusive society in the Lone Star State.

Alonzo

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 332

H.R. No. 332

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 332 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House