RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In April of each year, National Crime Victims'
- 2 Rights Week is sponsored by criminal justice and victim service
- 3 practitioners as an occasion to publicize and affirm the rights of
- 4 those who suffer as victims of violent crime; and
- 5 WHEREAS, During this week, many public education and
- 6 community awareness activities are sponsored to help the citizens
- 7 of Texas understand the experience of crime victims and to learn
- 8 about the many critical services available to those who fall prey to
- 9 criminal offenders; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Violent crime affects the lives of countless Texans
- 11 each year, and it is crucial that all citizens be fully aware of
- 12 their legal rights and the full range of services available to crime
- 13 victims, for only in this way can the criminal justice system secure
- 14 the rights of the innocent as well as the guilty; and
- 15 WHEREAS, It is entirely fitting that the Texas House of
- 16 Representatives lend its full support to this worthy observance and
- 17 make every effort to promote greater awareness of crime victims'
- 18 rights in every jurisdiction of this state; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby commend the many dedicated professionals and
- 21 volunteers who are working to secure rights and services for the
- 22 victims of crime and urge all Texans to observe National Crime
- 23 Victims' Rights Week in 2010.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 333

Gattis Menendez Straus Geren Allen Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Miller of Comal Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Morrison Aycock Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Heflin Brown of Brazos Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Hodge Chavez Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Quintanilla Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Jackson Craddick Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Sheffield Keffer Crownover Kent Shelton Darby King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III Madden Turner of Harris England Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber McClendon Woolley Frost Gallego McReynolds

H.R. No. 333

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 333 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House