RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Jimmy Sylvia has been selected as the

2008 Person of the Year by the West Chambers County Chamber of

3 Commerce; and

2

8

10

14

WHEREAS, Each year, the West Chambers County Chamber of

5 Commerce honors those individuals who have worked to further the

6 goals of the chamber, and the Person of the Year award is selected

7 by the entire membership of the organization in recognition of his

or her contributions to the community; and

9 WHEREAS, A longtime resident of Old River, Judge Sylvia is a

graduate of Barbers Hill High School and Sam Houston State

11 University; he served as commissioner of Precinct 3 for four years

12 before his election as county judge; and

WHEREAS, In that role, Judge Sylvia serves as the executive

officer and chief administrator of Chambers County and as the

15 presiding officer of the commissioners court; other official duties

16 include certifying elections, serving on the county juvenile board,

17 acting as county school superintendent ex officio, and providing

18 executive oversight to the emergency management coordinator; in his

19 nomination for the chamber's award, Judge Sylvia was particularly

20 commended for the leadership he demonstrated in protecting citizens

21 and businesses during and after Hurricane Ike as well as for the

22 sound business practices he has employed that have enabled Chambers

23 County to maintain strength and stability in a period of economic

24 recession; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Jimmy Sylvia has greatly contributed to the
- 2 betterment of life in Chambers County over the course of his tenure
- 3 as a public servant, and he may take justifiable pride in his
- 4 exemplary record of achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Judge Jimmy Sylvia on his selection
- 7 as the 2008 Person of the Year by the West Chambers County Chamber
- 8 of Commerce and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 9 success; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Judge Sylvia as an expression of high regard by the
- 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Eiland

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 335 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House