H.R. No. 351

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of Leadership Corpus Christi are visiting 2 the State Capitol on February 11-12, 2009, and their attendance provides a fitting opportunity to honor this outstanding group; and 3 WHEREAS, In 1972, the Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce 4 5 responded to a community need for more leaders by establishing Leadership Corpus Christi; now in its 37th year, the program 6 7 provides a forum for potential and existing business and community leaders to meet federal, state, and city officials and to learn 8 9 about programs under their jurisdiction and the challenges facing 10 the community; and

11 WHEREAS, The third-oldest leadership development program in 12 the country, Leadership Corpus Christi helps its participants 13 enhance visionary leadership skills through in-depth training 14 using a model of community trusteeship, and graduates of each class 15 use these skills as they take part in various community volunteer 16 activities; and

WHEREAS, Endeavoring to foster a more informed and involved citizenry and to develop new leaders in Corpus Christi, the program helping to build a brighter and more promising future for the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby welcome the members and alumni of Leadership Corpus Christi to the State Capitol and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 351

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for Leadership Corpus Christi as an expression of high 3 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Hunter Herrero Ortiz, Jr.

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

## H.R. No. 351

Menendez

H.R. No. 351

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 351 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House