H.R. No. 357

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Thadious Polasek of Flatonia Secondary School has
received a 2009 Texas Exes Award for Outstanding Teachers; and

3 WHEREAS, Created in 1987 and given jointly by the alumni 4 association of The University of Texas at Austin and the UT College 5 of Education, this accolade is presented annually to teachers 6 across the state who inspire and support their students, bring 7 credit to their profession, and enjoy the high esteem of their 8 students, their fellow teachers, parents, and the community at 9 large; and

10 WHEREAS, Twelve recipients are chosen each year from among 11 several hundred nominees; award winners receive a cash prize and a 12 custom-designed bronze trophy; more than 230 Texas teachers have 13 been honored in the last two decades; and

WHEREAS, An educator in the Flatonia Independent School District for more than 30 years, Thadious Polasek teaches honors English, theater arts, and Czech language classes; over the course of his career, he has challenged and inspired several generations of students, both as a teacher and as the coach of Flatonia's championship debate team; and

20 WHEREAS, Mr. Polasek has led the way in preserving the Czech 21 language and heritage in his community, writing his own curriculum; 22 as a result of a partnership with Blinn College, his Czech classes 23 are now available to other schools through teleconferencing, and 24 this exemplary effort was recognized in 2006 with a visit to

1

Flatonia Secondary School by Petr Kolar, the Czech ambassador to
the United States; and

3 WHEREAS, Thadious Polasek has long earned the respect of his 4 colleagues and the gratitude of his students, and now, with his 5 receipt of this prestigious award, he has been justly recognized as 6 one of the finest teachers in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, 7 be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 9 Legislature hereby congratulate Thadious Polasek on receiving a 10 2009 Texas Exes Award for Outstanding Teachers and extend to him 11 sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it 12 further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for Mr. Polasek as an expression of high regard by the 15 Texas House of Representatives.

Morrison

H.R. No. 357

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 357

3

H.R. No. 357

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 357 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House