RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Irving Independent School District has played a 2 vital role in the education of generations of young Texans, and area residents are gathering on April 23, 2009, to pay tribute to the 3 district on its 100th anniversary; and 4 5 WHEREAS, In 1909, Kit and Lively Schools were consolidated to form Irving ISD, and the first school building was constructed on 6 7 property that had been donated by the town's founders; four years later, district officials built a three-story red brick structure 8 they called "Old Red," which was the tallest building in Irving at 9 the time; through the following decades, the district saw the 10 11 addition of an auditorium, its first indoor gymnasium, a cafeteria, and an athletic field, and in 1941, the number of grades increased 12 to 12; and 13 14 WHEREAS, Today, Irving ISD encompasses nearly 50 square miles of 31 elementary, middle, and high schools, as well as three early 15 16 childhood schools and three learning centers; the population has grown from its original 125 to its current 33,000 17 students; skillfully led by superintendent Jack Singley, Irving ISD 18 works to further its mission of partnering with families and 19 20 members of the community to meet the needs of its students and to 21 cultivate learning, thinking, and communicating; and WHEREAS, Although Irving ISD has changed significantly over 22 23 the course of a century, it has not wavered in its commitment to

providing high-quality educational opportunities, and its rich

24

- 1 tradition of academic achievement remains a tremendous source of
- 2 pride for the surrounding community; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor the Irving Independent School District on
- 5 the occasion of its centennial and extend to all those associated
- 6 with the district sincere best wishes for continued success; and,
- 7 be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Irving ISD as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 359 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House