## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Jim Wells County are assembling at the

State Capitol on February 12, 2009, to celebrate the importance of

3 their home to the history of the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, The county has a landscape of sweeping grasslands

5 and wide horizons; its early inhabitants, the Chaguane and Payuguan

6 tribes, enjoyed the region's mild winters and abundant game; after

7 the first European settlement in 1754, at Penitas Creek, Mexican

8 ranchers developed land grants into sheep and cattle ranches; in

9 1848 the region became part of the State of Texas, and it was

10 formally incorporated as a county in 1911 and named after the

11 prominent politician James B. Wells, Jr.; and

12 WHEREAS, With the arrival of the railroad in the 1870s,

13 county seat Alice became the most important livestock shipment

14 junction in South Texas, and ranching has remained a mainstay of the

15 county's economy ever since; cotton and sorghum are important

16 crops, as are hay, corn, and wheat; since the discovery of oil in

17 1931, the county has become one of the leaders in oil production in

18 Texas; and

2

19 WHEREAS, The importance of Tejano culture to the county and

20 to all of Texas is honored by the Tejano Roots Hall of Fame in Alice,

21 recognizing the region as the birthplace of this popular musical

22 genre; South Texas culture is further showcased at the South Texas

23 Museum, housed in the historic McGill Brothers Building in Alice;

24 the annual Fiesta Bandana, celebrating Cinco de Mayo, is a

- 1 highlight of the county's cultural calendar; and
- WHEREAS, The county is also the region's center for health
- 3 care, with two outstanding facilities, the CHRISTUS Spohn Hospital
- 4 Alice and the CHRISTUS Spohn Laviana Plaza; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The hardworking and forward-looking citizens of Jim
- 6 Wells County are building on a long tradition of progressive
- 7 development, and their industry, achievements, and public spirit
- 8 are indeed worthy of special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2009, as Jim Wells County
- 11 Day at the State Capitol and extend to its citizens sincere best
- 12 wishes for a memorable visit to Austin.

Gonzalez Toureilles

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 370 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House