RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family and friends mourn the loss of Elaine Annette 2 Guajardo Kelley of San Antonio, who died on July 24, 2007, at the 3 age of 58; and WHEREAS, Born on March 30, 1949, to Hilario and Mary A. 4 5 Guajardo, Elaine Kelley was a graduate of Little Flower High School

and earned her bachelor's degree in nursing from the University of 6 7 the Incarnate Word; during her senior year in college, she answered

her nation's call to duty and enlisted in the United States Army as 8

a second lieutenant; following her active service, she continued to 9

hold the rank of lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Army Reserve; and 10

11 WHEREAS, In an exemplary nursing career that spanned nearly 12

30 years, Ms. Kelley worked at Wilford Hall Medical Center and

Brooke Army Medical Center at Fort Sam Houston; her expertise as a 13 14 cardiovascular nurse, as well as her dedication, deep compassion,

and meticulous professionalism, greatly benefited her patients 15

16 over the years and earned her the admiration and respect of her

peers; and 17

WHEREAS, Called to active duty during the Desert Shield and 18 Desert Storm campaigns, Lieutenant Colonel Kelley served with 19 distinction as assistant chief nurse in the 114th EVAC Hospital in 20 21 Saudi Arabia, where she provided outstanding care to countless soldiers; her devotion to duty earned her the National Defense 22 23 Service Medal with Service Star, the Army Commendation Medal, the Army Achievement Medal, and the Army Reserve Component Achievement 24

- 1 Medal; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Outside of her professional responsibilities, Ms.
- 3 Kelley gave generously of her time and expertise to benefit her
- 4 community; she led training seminars in CPR for schools and civic
- 5 organizations and supported numerous Catholic church programs,
- 6 including the youth choir, the youth drill team, summer Bible
- 7 school, and prayer groups; in addition, she was an active member of
- 8 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, De Amigos de Amigos, Chapter 128 of the
- 9 Disabled American Veterans, and the Paralyzed Veterans of America;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Devoted to her family, friends, church, and country,
- 12 Elaine Kelley dedicated her life to the service of others; although
- 13 her life ended far too soon, memories of her courage, perseverance,
- 14 and integrity will continue to inspire all who knew her; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Elaine Annette
- 18 Guajardo Kelley and extend sincere condolences to the members of
- 19 her family: to her daughters, Lisa Kelley Walker and her husband,
- 20 Christopher, and Nina Kelley; to her parents, Hilario and Mary A.
- 21 Guajardo; to her sisters, Sharon G. Callihan and her husband,
- 22 Charles, Adele G. Polk, and Theresa G. Johnson; to her brother, Eli
- 23 V. Guajardo and his wife, Melinda; to her uncle, Francis B.
- 24 Guilbeau; to her cousin, Ernestine McGee; to her special friend,
- 25 Charlotte Sampson; and to her other relatives and friends; and, be
- 26 it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 2 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Elaine
- 3 Annette Guajardo Kelley.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 377 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House