H.R. No. 380

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, September 2, 2008, marked a significant milestone in
the life of Jerry Wayne Young, Sr., of San Antonio, for on that day
he celebrated his 70th birthday; and

WHEREAS, The son of Acy and Melody Young, Jerry Wayne Young was born in 1938 in the East Texas town of Joaquin; he graduated from Central High School and went on to study at Texas Southern University; for almost a quarter century he served his country in the United States Army, completing assignments that took him to Okinawa, Korea, Germany, and Hawaii as well as stateside locations in Maryland, Arkansas, Georgia, Missouri, and Texas; and

11 WHEREAS, In 1984, Mr. Young retired from his position as an 12 investigator with the army's Criminal Investigation Division and 13 subsequently became chief of security for Frost Brothers Department 14 Store in San Antonio; he and his wife, Vera Young, went on to 15 operate the Carter-Taylor-Williams Mortuary; and

16 WHEREAS, Mr. Young enjoys the love and affection of a fine 17 family that includes his 6 children, 3 stepchildren, 18 18 grandchildren, and 8 great-grandchildren; he is a valued congregant 19 of Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church, where he has distinguished 20 himself on the usher board, and he holds the rank of Past Grand 21 Exalted Ruler with Elks Mission Lodge No. 499; and

WHEREAS, A respected member of his community, Jerry Wayne Young is an inspiration to all who know him, and it is a pleasure to honor him for seven decades of life well lived; now, therefore, be

1

H.R. No. 380

1 it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Jerry Wayne Young, Sr., on his 70th 4 birthday and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 5 success and happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Young as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 380

H.R. No. 380

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 380 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House