## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The citizens of San Antonio lost a dedicated
- 2 community activist with the passing of East Side advocate David M.
- 3 Arevalo on December 12, 2008, at the age of 47; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Arevalo was born to Juan and Guadalupe Arevalo
- 5 on January 8, 1961; a graduate of Louis W. Fox Academic and
- 6 Technical High School, he demonstrated a concern for others at an
- 7 early age; while still in his 20s, he was instrumental in founding
- 8 the Denver Heights Youth Sports Foundation, which has provided
- 9 opportunities for countless children to participate in athletics;
- 10 he coached the Denver Heights Eagles football team to numerous
- 11 victories, among them the 2000 Texas Youth Football Association
- 12 junior championship, and became a father figure and role model for
- 13 many young people; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Mr. Arevalo fought tirelessly for environmental
- 15 justice for his beloved East Side; as the leader of Residents
- 16 Organized for a Safe Environment, he successfully fought for proper
- 17 disposal of the contaminated soil that was excavated during
- 18 construction of the Alamodome in the 1990s; he later spoke out
- 19 against the building of new fuel storage tanks on the East Side,
- 20 argued for the rerouting of freight trains away from heavily
- 21 populated areas, and remained an ever-vigilant watchdog for the
- 22 public; and
- WHEREAS, A part-time concert promoter, Mr. Arevalo shared his
- 24 expertise in organizing an annual National Night Out observance in

- 1 the Alamodome; in 2008, he was honored by NNO for coordinating the
- 2 city's largest such anticrime event; this kind and generous man
- 3 never hesitated to help others and was deeply devoted to his wife,
- 4 his two children, and his extended family; and
- 5 WHEREAS, David Arevalo will be greatly missed, but he left an
- 6 indelible mark on San Antonio, and his selfless commitment to the
- 7 betterment of his community will never be forgotten; now,
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of David M. Arevalo and
- 11 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife of
- 12 30 years, Patricia Arevalo; to his children, Elizabeth and Dominick
- 13 Arevalo; to his brothers, John Arevalo and his wife, Margaret,
- 14 Manuel Arevalo and his wife, Nellie, and Frank Arevalo and his wife,
- 15 Jane; to his sister, Oralia Figueroa, and her husband, Angel; and to
- 16 his many other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 19 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of David M.
- 20 Arevalo.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 382 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House