H.R. No. 386

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A distinguished and beloved servant of his faith for 2 more than 50 years, the Reverend Clyde James Bias has dedicated 3 himself to the congregation of Bethany Missionary Baptist Church in 4 San Antonio since 1981; and

5 WHEREAS, Born in Crowley, Louisiana, on January 9, 1918, to 6 Nick and Carrie Bias, Clyde Bias joined the Army Air Force in 1941; 7 he served in World War II and the Korean War, and for a time, worked 8 as the personal food service administrator to General Dwight D. 9 Eisenhower; Airman Bias was stationed in San Antonio in 1957 and 10 retired from the Air Force as a technical sergeant in 1964; and

11 WHEREAS, After being ordained in 1952, Reverend Bias began 12 his career in the ministry as the pastor of Westridge Park First 13 Baptist Church in San Antonio in 1959, and he faithfully served that 14 congregation for more than two decades; and

WHEREAS, In 1981, Reverend Bias organized and became the first pastor of Bethany Missionary Baptist Church in San Antonio and led the congregation with distinction for 24 years; since his retirement in 2005, he has continued to be an aid and comfort to the members of Bethany Missionary as pastor emeritus; and

20 WHEREAS, Through his unwavering devotion to his faith, his 21 community, and his congregations, Clyde Bias has exemplified 22 spiritual and civic leadership, and he may indeed reflect with 23 pride on his myriad achievements; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 386
1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Reverend Clyde James Bias on
2 his lifetime of service to others and extend to him sincere best
3 wishes for continued happiness and fulfillment; and, be it further
4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
5 prepared for Reverend Bias as an expression of high regard by the

6 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 386

H.R. No. 386

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 386 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House