RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Harolyn Sylvia Kidd, a longtime educator in the San
- 2 Antonio community, marked a milestone in her life when she
- 3 celebrated her 75th birthday on September 4, 2007; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The first of nine children born to Harold and
- 5 Margaret Lovett Brown, Mrs. Kidd graduated from Central High School
- 6 and attended Alabama State Teachers College; after teaching in
- 7 Alabama, she moved with her family to San Antonio, where she joined
- 8 the faculty at Dorie Miller Elementary; over the course of more than
- 9 40 years in the classroom, Mrs. Kidd worked to guide and inspire
- 10 hundreds of youngsters, and her devoted efforts will continue to
- 11 bear fruit for years to come; and
- WHEREAS, A talented vocalist, pianist, and artist, Harolyn
- 13 Kidd made a national television appearance in 1963, when she sang
- 14 with her sister Nina Brown Flanagan and their friend Charlotte
- 15 Drungo Lambert on Ted Mack's Original Amateur Hour; and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Kidd and her husband of 47 years, Lovelace T.
- 17 Kidd, Sr., have been richly blessed with three children and five
- 18 grandchildren, and she takes great satisfaction in her roles as
- 19 wife, mother, and grandmother; and
- WHEREAS, Holding a treasured place in the heart of her
- 21 family, Harolyn Kidd is cherished by all who know her for her great
- 22 kindness, warm generosity, and strong faith, and she has brought
- 23 much happiness into the lives of many individuals; now, therefore,
- 24 be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Harolyn Sylvia Kidd on her 75th
- 3 birthday and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 happiness and good fortune; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Kidd as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 391 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House