## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The San Antonio Branch of the NAACP hosted its annual Jubilee Service and Dinner on January 25, 2009, and the occasion offered a welcome opportunity to pay tribute to Marvinette Smith, the newly elected president of the organization, as well as the officers that will serve alongside Mrs. Smith from 2009 to 2011; and

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

WHEREAS, A retired caseworker with the Texas Department of Human Resources, Mrs. Smith brings to her post a broad range of experience; her work in the NAACP has included service as a local and state chair for the group Women in the NAACP, and she has held prominent positions in numerous other organizations, including the San Antonio Chapter of the Top Ladies of Distinction, the Woman's Club of San Antonio, Fiesta San Antonio, and Queen of Soul; and

14 WHEREAS, This dedicated community leader has placed a particular emphasis on mentoring young people to prepare them for 15 16 the challenges and opportunities of the future; a Girl Scout coleader and a longtime volunteer with the Boys and Girls Clubs of 17 San Antonio, she has also helped direct the national Assault on 18 Illiteracy program sponsored by the Top Ladies of Distinction and 19 20 has spent countless hours tutoring at-risk students in San Antonio; 21 moreover, she is renowned for her work in helping young women to develop the poise and self-assurance they need to achieve their 22 23 goals; Mrs. Smith has carried out that mission as president of the 24 Van Courtlandt Social Club and in her roles as secretary and board

- 1 member for the Cherice Cochrane Mentoring for Success Foundation;
- 2 and
- WHEREAS, Not surprisingly, Mrs. Smith's many charitable
- 4 endeavors have been recognized with a number of honors, including
- 5 the 2005 Volunteer of the Year Award from the Retired Senior
- 6 Volunteer Program, a Girl Scout Outstanding Leader commendation,
- 7 and nominations for a United Way Jefferson Award and for induction
- 8 into the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Joining Mrs. Smith in leading the San Antonio Branch
- 10 of the NAACP in the next two years are a distinguished group of
- 11 officers: first vice president Horace Brown, second vice president
- 12 William B. Johnson, Sr., third vice president Gloria Chandler,
- 13 secretary Maria Greene, assistant secretary Mentoria Sherfield,
- 14 treasurer August Johnson, and assistant treasurer Johnnie Merry
- 15 Thompson; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Together, these accomplished individuals will
- 17 provide assured guidance to the San Antonio Branch of the NAACP, and
- 18 their efforts will further the organization's admirable record of
- 19 achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate president Marvinette Smith and the
- 22 newly selected officers of the San Antonio Branch of the NAACP; and,
- 23 be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for Mrs. Smith and the 2009-2011 NAACP officers as an
- 26 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

Gattis Menendez Straus Geren Allen Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Miller of Comal Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Morrison Aycock Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Heflin Brown of Brazos Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Quintanilla Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Jackson Craddick Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Sheffield Keffer Crownover Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III Madden Turner of Harris England Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Frost

Gallego

Woolley

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 399 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House