By: McClendon

H.R. No. 399

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The San Antonio Branch of the NAACP hosted its 2 annual Jubilee Service and Dinner on January 25, 2009, and the 3 occasion offered a welcome opportunity to pay tribute to Marvinette 4 Smith, the newly elected president of the organization, as well as 5 the officers that will serve alongside Mrs. Smith from 2009 to 2011; 6 and

7 WHEREAS, A retired caseworker with the Texas Department of 8 Human Resources, Mrs. Smith brings to her post a broad range of 9 experience; her work in the NAACP has included service as a local 10 and state chair for the group Women in the NAACP, and she has held 11 prominent positions in numerous other organizations, including the 12 San Antonio Chapter of the Top Ladies of Distinction, the Woman's 13 Club of San Antonio, Fiesta San Antonio, and Queen of Soul; and

14 WHEREAS, This dedicated community leader has placed a particular emphasis on mentoring young people to prepare them for 15 16 the challenges and opportunities of the future; a Girl Scout coleader and a longtime volunteer with the Boys and Girls Clubs of 17 San Antonio, she has also helped direct the national Assault on 18 Illiteracy program sponsored by the Top Ladies of Distinction and 19 20 has spent countless hours tutoring at-risk students in San Antonio; 21 moreover, she is renowned for her work in helping young women to develop the poise and self-assurance they need to achieve their 22 23 goals; Mrs. Smith has carried out that mission as president of the Van Courtlandt Social Club and in her roles as secretary and board 24

1

1 member for the Cherice Cochrane Mentoring for Success Foundation; 2 and

H.R. No. 399

3 WHEREAS, Not surprisingly, Mrs. Smith's many charitable 4 endeavors have been recognized with a number of honors, including 5 the 2005 Volunteer of the Year Award from the Retired Senior 6 Volunteer Program, a Girl Scout Outstanding Leader commendation, 7 and nominations for a United Way Jefferson Award and for induction 8 into the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame; and

9 WHEREAS, Joining Mrs. Smith in leading the San Antonio Branch 10 of the NAACP in the next two years are a distinguished group of 11 officers: first vice president Horace Brown, second vice president 12 William B. Johnson, Sr., third vice president Gloria Chandler, 13 secretary Maria Greene, assistant secretary Mentoria Sherfield, 14 treasurer August Johnson, and assistant treasurer Johnnie Merry 15 Thompson; and

16 WHEREAS, Together, these accomplished individuals will 17 provide assured guidance to the San Antonio Branch of the NAACP, and 18 their efforts will further the organization's admirable record of 19 achievement; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate president Marvinette Smith and the 22 newly selected officers of the San Antonio Branch of the NAACP; and, 23 be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mrs. Smith and the 2009-2011 NAACP officers as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2