and Valley Ranch

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Distinguished citizens of Irving are gathering on 2 February 17, 2009, to celebrate Irving Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, Originally a settlement known as Gorbit and then as Kit, the city was renamed in 1902, possibly for the author 4 5 Washington Irving; it soon became a center for cotton farming, dairy farming, and poultry production in North Texas; and 6 7 WHEREAS, Irving began its period of rapid growth in the mid-20th century; the Plymouth Park Shopping Center opened in 1955, 8 the University of Dallas in 1956, and Irving Community Hospital in 9
- 11 master-planned business and residential communities contributed 12 further to the city's growth, and from 1971 to 2008, the city was
- 13 the home of "America's Team," the Dallas Cowboys; and

1964; the creation of the Las Colinas

10

- WHEREAS, Today, with a population of nearly 210,000, Irving
- 15 boasts more than 10,000 companies, including the headquarters of
- 16 ExxonMobil, Kimberly-Clark, the Commercial Metals Company, and the
- 17 Fluor Corporation; over 45 companies in the Fortune 500 have a
- 18 presence in the city, including Amazon.com, Northrop Grumman,
- 19 Verizon, Microsoft, and many others; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Irving's educational and cultural resources make it
- 21 a fine place to live and work; the University of Dallas and North
- 22 Lake College offer ample opportunities for higher education, and
- 23 the city is home to the Irving Arts Center, as well as to three
- 24 symphony orchestras and two award-winning theater companies; and

WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike may delight in the 1 gondolas at Mandalay Canal and the stunning sculpture known as the 2 3 Mustangs of Las Colinas, with its associated museum; Irving is also home to the headquarters of the Boy Scouts of America, and the BSA's 4 5 National Scouting Museum tells the history of scouting and possesses the world's largest collection of original Norman 6 Rockwell scouting artwork; the HP Byron Nelson Golf Championship is 7 8 an annual PGA Tour event; and WHEREAS, Benefiting greatly from the farsighted leadership 9 of Mayor Herbert A. Gears and the members of the city council, 10 Thomas D. Spink, Beth Van Duyne, Allan E. Meagher, Lewis Patrick, 11 12 Rose Cannaday, Rick Stopfer, Sam Smith, and Joe Philipp, Irving is a forward-looking and vibrant city, and its creative and hardworking 13 citizens are to be commended for their contributions to the 14 15 prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it 16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize February 17, 2009, as Irving Day at the State Capitol and extend to its mayor, city council members, 18 19 corporate executives, chamber representatives, and other citizens

present today a warm welcome to Austin.

20

Harper-Brown England Anchia

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 401 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House