## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 recognize February 12, 2009, as Mission Day at the Capitol and to
- 3 welcome the citizens of Mission who have traveled to Austin for this
- 4 occasion; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The city of Mission was founded in 1908, the year the
- 6 Missouri Pacific Railroad established a station in the area, and
- 7 the city was named for La Lomita Mission, which was located nearby;
- 8 since then, Mission has grown to be a thriving city with a
- 9 population of approximately 65,000 people; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The first citrus trees in the Rio Grande Valley were
- 11 planted in the Mission area; today, the citrus industry is a
- 12 multimillion-dollar business and is celebrated each year at the
- 13 Citrus Fiesta; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Mission was immortalized in Larry McMurtry's novel
- 15 and miniseries, Lonesome Dove, and notable residents have included
- 16 the late United States Senator and Treasury Secretary Lloyd Bentsen
- 17 and former United States Congressman Kika de la Garza; Mission was
- 18 the childhood home of Tom Landry and a second home to Governor Allan
- 19 Shivers and to William Jennings Bryan; and
- WHEREAS, Mission Day at the Capitol provides an opportunity
- 21 to honor the city's heritage and its many charms, which are enjoyed
- 22 by residents and vacationers of all ages; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2009, as Mission Day at

- 1 the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the members of the
- 2 visiting delegation for an enjoyable and memorable stay in Austin.

Flores Gonzales

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 408 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House