## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For a quarter-century, the Lighthouse Charity Team 2 of Friendswood has provided hot meals for people in need and helped to raise money for area nonprofit groups; and 3 WHEREAS, The Lighthouse Charity Team was founded in 1984, 4 5 when Dick Daugird offered the MDA telethon use of his local landmark lighthouse; he invited friends and family to assist in the event, 6 7 and these volunteers provided meals for telethon participants; and 8 WHEREAS, Through the years, the operation has helped to raise thousands of dollars for worthwhile causes; little leagues, 9 and storm victims have benefited from the group's 10 11 generosity; after Hurricane Ike, the Lighthouse Charity Team served 12 nearly 50,000 meals to city employees and area residents; and 13 WHEREAS, The group has also provided equipment and volunteer 14 labor to prepare meals for the Boy Scouts of America, American Heart Association, March of Dimes, United Way, and YMCA; and 15 16 WHEREAS, Since its founding, the Lighthouse Charity Team has made a positive difference in the lives of many Gulf Coast 17 residents, and the organization and its caring staff are indeed 18 deserving of special recognition for their notable efforts and 19 20 achievements; now, therefore, be it 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby honor the Lighthouse Charity Team of Friendswood 22 23 on 25 years of service and extend to all those involved sincere best

wishes for continued success with their important work; and, be it

2.4

H.R. No. 412

- 1 further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 4 House of Representatives.

Taylor

## H.R. No. 412

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H.R. No. 412

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 412 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House