RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of San Antonio lost a cherished teacher,
- 2 writer, and community activist with the passing of Sharon Eileen
- 3 Gibbs on August 11, 2007, at the age of 60; and
- WHEREAS, Born in 1947 to Lieutenant Colonel Jack Gibbs and
- 5 Dorothy Gibbs in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, Sharon Gibbs relocated
- 6 with her family to Arlington, Virginia, where she graduated from
- 7 Bishop O'Connell High School; she went on to attend Wheeling Jesuit
- 8 College in West Virginia, and in 1971, she won the prestigious
- 9 Peabody Award for her work at the WWVA Radio station in Wheeling;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, This talented journalist earned a master's degree
- 12 from The University of Texas at San Antonio and was a news editor
- 13 for the San Antonio Light and for the Stars and Stripes; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Her true passion, however, was education, and she
- 15 began teaching at middle schools in low-income neighborhoods; Ms.
- 16 Gibbs took a hands-on approach in the classroom, and through her
- 17 history lessons, she challenged and inspired her students;
- 18 moreover, she was a compassionate volunteer, and she devoted many
- 19 hours to serving the less privileged members of her community; and
- WHEREAS, Sharon Gibbs touched the lives of countless
- 21 individuals with her kind and joyful nature, and she will forever be
- 22 remembered with great admiration and affection by all who were
- 23 fortunate enough to know her; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Sharon Eileen Gibbs
- 2 and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family: to her
- 3 daughter, Shana Gibbs; to her brothers, Phillip, John, and Terrance
- 4 Gibbs; and to her other relatives and many friends; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Sharon
- 9 Gibbs.

Solomons

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 413 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House