RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The country's largest and oldest civil rights 2 organization, the National Association for the Advancement of 3 Colored People, is marking the 100th anniversary of its founding on 4 February 12, 2009; and

WHEREAS, In the summer of 1908, the nation was shocked by 5 accounts of mob violence that raged for two days against African 6 Americans in Springfield, Illinois, the birthplace of President 7 Abraham Lincoln; a multiracial group of activists came together in 8 response to this outrage and formed the NAACP in New York on 9 February 12, 1909, which would have been Lincoln's 100th birthday; 10 11 the next year, founding officer W. E. B. Du Bois, a prominent 12 intellectual, launched the association's widely influential magazine, The Crisis; and 13

WHEREAS, The NAACP established itself as a crucial legal advocate with a series of early court battles, and in 1915 it vigorously protested the inflammatory film *Birth of a Nation*, which glorified the Ku Klux Klan and perpetuated demeaning stereotypes; membership in the NAACP grew rapidly, from around 9,000 in 1917 to 90,000 three years later, with more than 300 branches across the country; and

21 WHEREAS, After persistent pressure by the NAACP, President 22 Woodrow Wilson made a public statement against lynching in 1918; 23 the organization continued to battle this heinous practice 24 throughout the 1920s, leading a national debate that brought about

1

1 a sharp decline in such violence; in the 1930s, NAACP members 2 blocked the nomination of a segregationist judge to the U.S. 3 Supreme Court, and association lawyers Charles Houston and Thurgood 4 Marshall won the legal battle to admit an African American student 5 to the University of Maryland; and

WHEREAS, Future U.S. Supreme Court Justice Marshall later 6 7 brought the NAACP one of its greatest legal victories with Brown v. the Board of Education, the landmark case that outlawed segregation 8 in public schools; the organization joined with other groups in the 9 10 heroic movement ignited by NAACP member Rosa Parks, and its lobbying bureau in Washington helped advance integration of the 11 12 armed forces and passage of the Civil Rights Acts of 1957, 1964, and 1968, as well as the Voting Rights Act of 1965; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Through the years, this groundbreaking organization 15 has continued to work tirelessly to end bigotry and discrimination; today, more than half a million members advocate for civil rights in 16 17 their communities and monitor barriers to opportunity in the public and private sectors; as the NAACP marks its milestone 100th 18 19 anniversary, president and chief executive officer Benjamin Todd Jealous has affirmed its commitment to human rights and announced 20 heightened efforts in behalf of all Americans to end disparities in 21 educational attainment, income, and health; and 22

WHEREAS, The NAACP has played a transformational role in American history, and through their courage and tenacity, its members and distinguished leaders have demonstrated profound allegiance to our nation's founding principles of liberty, equality, and justice; now, therefore, be it

2

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the National Association for the 3 Advancement of Colored People on its centennial and commend the 4 organization for its remarkable record of achievement.

Thompson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 420

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 420 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House