## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students and alumni of St. Philip's College in San
- 2 Antonio take justifiable pride in their alma mater, which
- 3 celebrated the 110th anniversary of its founding on March 1, 2008;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established by Bishop James Steptoe Johnston of St.
- 6 Philip's Episcopal Church, the school began as a sewing class for
- 7 high school girls, and in 1898 it was reconstituted to provide for
- 8 the education of African American youth; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Since that time, St. Philip's College has
- 10 established itself as an outstanding institution of higher learning
- 11 for all those in pursuit of knowledge; thanks in great part to the
- 12 leadership of Artemisia Bowden, St. Philip's joined with San
- 13 Antonio College in 1945 to form the San Antonio Union Junior College
- 14 District, now the Alamo Community College District, and this
- 15 partnership has been of great benefit to countless students
- 16 throughout the region; and
- 17 WHEREAS, This accredited two-year college has grown steadily
- 18 through the years; during the past two decades alone, a southwest
- 19 site was added at the former East Kelly Air Force Base, four new
- 20 buildings were constructed at the main campus, and the school
- 21 opened the Learning and Leadership Development Center and Child
- 22 Development Center; in addition, St. Philip's College collaborated
- 23 with the Alamo Community College District to establish a Northeast
- 24 Campus and an Advanced Technology Center; and

- 1 WHEREAS, The staff and faculty of St. Philip's College have
- 2 committed themselves to meeting the educational needs of the
- 3 community, and by fostering a harmonious balance between
- 4 preparation for professional specializations and a liberal arts and
- 5 sciences curriculum, they have ensured that the institution will
- 6 remain an indispensable and welcome presence in the South Texas
- 7 landscape; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby commemorate the 110th anniversary of St.
- 10 Philip's College and extend to all those associated with the school
- 11 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the institution as an expression of high regard by the
- 14 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 426 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House