RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Derek Schottle of Sugar Land has deservedly been
- 2 named the 2008 Male Athlete of the Year by Special Olympics Texas;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, This notable honor pays tribute to athletes who best
- 5 embody the spirit of Special Olympics; nominations for the award
- 6 are made on the basis of several criteria, including an athlete's
- 7 sportsmanship, leadership, involvement in Special Olympics events
- 8 and programs, and participation in school and community activities;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Schottle received further recognition for his
- 11 work in Special Olympics when he attended the Big 12 Conference
- 12 football title game in Kansas City on December 6, 2008, and was
- 13 presented with a conference championship ring; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Referred to affectionately as "Tank," a nickname he
- 15 earned while playing football for Lamar Consolidated High School,
- 16 Mr. Schottle has taken part in Special Olympic competitions for
- 17 more than five years; he is captain of the Lamar Renegades team and
- 18 competes in basketball, softball, and track; and
- 19 WHEREAS, In addition to his Special Olympic activities,
- 20 Mr. Schottle continues to be involved with the Lamar football team,
- 21 serving as its athletic trainer and manager; moreover, he had the
- 22 honor of being voted his school's 2008 prom king; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Derek Schottle has gained the respect of his fellow
- 24 athletes for his positive attitude and enthusiasm, and his many

- 1 achievements on and off the field are indications of the
- 2 outstanding work ethic and character of this admirable young man;
- 3 now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate Derek Schottle on being named the
- 6 2008 Male Athlete of the Year by Special Olympics Texas and extend
- 7 to him sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness;
- 8 and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Mr. Schottle as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Howard of Fort Bend

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 432 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House