RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Pearson, an educational publishing company with
- 2 offices in San Antonio, is hosting a weekly discussion series in
- 3 celebration of Black History Month 2009; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Addressing the theme "The Quest for Black
- 5 Citizenship in the Americas," guest speakers include such
- 6 noteworthy members of the community as John "Mule" Miles, who
- 7 played in the Negro Baseball League, Dr. Dianna Burns-Banks,
- 8 pediatrician and co-owner of five clinics in medically underserved
- 9 areas, and Dr. Carey H. Latimore IV, assistant professor of history
- 10 at Trinity University; and
- 11 WHEREAS, A black history event was first established in 1926
- 12 as a weeklong observance by author and scholar Dr. Carter G.
- 13 Woodson, who sought a means by which to heighten awareness of
- 14 African American culture and engender pride among black Americans;
- 15 the tribute was expanded to a month in 1976 and was officially
- 16 recognized by President Gerald Ford, who encouraged all Americans
- 17 to pay "tribute to Black History Month and the message of courage
- 18 and perseverance it brings to all of us"; and
- WHEREAS, Supporting that sentiment year-round, Pearson is in
- 20 the fifth year of a plan that includes efforts to have "diversity at
- 21 the heart of everything" it does, and the company pays special
- 22 attention to such areas as promotion, retention, recruitment,
- 23 training, internships, senior leadership, and compensation; and
- 24 WHEREAS, African Americans have been a significant part of

- 1 the population of Texas and the United States for hundreds of years,
- 2 and the celebration of Black History Month acknowledges and
- 3 promotes the immeasurable benefits of living in a truly diverse
- 4 society; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby commemorate Black History Month and commend
- 7 Pearson for its role in honoring the contributions of African
- 8 Americans; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the company as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 433 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House