RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, August 2008 was a special month for Pastor Carl
- 2 Dailey and Sister Ruth Dailey of San Antonio, as August 18th marked
- 3 their 46th wedding anniversary and August 14th was Pastor Dailey's
- 4 67th birthday; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native of Cincinnati, Ohio, Pastor Dailey was born
- 6 in 1941 to Samuel and Anna Dailey; he attended Taft High School and
- 7 went on to serve his country in Vietnam as a member of the United
- 8 States Army; he later resumed his schooling, earning an LVN license
- 9 from St. Philip's College and a bachelor's degree in political
- 10 science and speech from St. Mary's University; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Pastor Dailey married the former Ruth Clay on August
- 12 18, 1962, and since that time, they have been blessed with three
- 13 sons, Carl, James Edward, and Darrel, and four grandchildren; the
- 14 couple have also been devoted foster parents for 14 years, and
- 15 Pastor Dailey has shared his expertise as president of the San
- 16 Antonio Foster Parent Association; and
- 17 WHEREAS, In 1978, this notable Texan began his church
- 18 leadership as pastor of Open Door Pentecostal; after two years, he
- 19 and Sister Dailey founded the United Apostolic Church, where their
- 20 moral and spiritual guidance has inspired congregants for nearly
- 21 three decades; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to his work with United Apostolic,
- 23 Pastor Dailey has directed the youth at True Holiness and has served
- 24 as chair of Southern District Fellowship and as district elder for

- 1 the Texas State Council board; and
- 2 WHEREAS, His professional endeavors have included a
- 3 five-year tenure with Edgewood Independent School District as well
- 4 as the operation of his own business, A-1 Referral Service;
- 5 moreover, he has worked as an instructor at the language school at
- 6 Lackland Air Force Base, and his dedicated efforts in that role
- 7 earned him the title of Teacher of the Year; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This esteemed clergyman has further given back to
- 9 his fellow residents through his service as a director for the San
- 10 Antonio Neighborhood Association and as a board member for C.O.P.S.
- 11 and Metro Alliance; he has also led the Dellcrest Area Neighborhood
- 12 Association as president and served as a member of its board; and
- WHEREAS, Carl and Ruth Dailey's ongoing efforts in behalf of
- 14 their congregation and the greater community have earned them the
- 15 lasting respect and admiration of countless individuals, and they
- 16 merit special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate Carl Dailey on his 67th birthday
- 19 and honor Carl and Ruth Dailey for their 46th wedding anniversary;
- 20 and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Pastor and Mrs. Dailey as an expression of high regard
- 23 by the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 434 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House