RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Hidalgo Mayor John David Franz has been named the
- 2 2009 Border Texan of the Year for his many contributions to his
- 3 community; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Nominees for the Border Texan of the Year award are
- 5 proposed by area communities, and the final selection is made by a
- 6 committee of the Hidalgo Chamber of Commerce, as part of the city's
- 7 annual BorderFest celebration; Mayor Franz was chosen by unanimous
- 8 vote; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A native of Hidalgo, John David Franz began his
- 10 exemplary career in public service at the age of 18, when he was
- 11 appointed the city's municipal judge; in 1990, he was elected as
- 12 mayor of Hidalgo, and he has distinguished himself in that office
- 13 ever since; and
- WHEREAS, During his tenure, Mayor Franz has played a vital
- 15 role in improving the city's finances; he was instrumental in
- 16 bringing the popular Dodge Arena concert venue to Hidalgo, and he
- 17 chairs the Texas Municipal Facilities Corporation, which oversees
- 18 the arena; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Mayor Franz has also been a leader in improving
- 20 community facilities and services; he has overseen the construction
- 21 of a new city hall and library, as well as youth centers and a system
- 22 of recreational trails; and
- WHEREAS, For nearly 20 years, John David Franz has
- 24 contributed greatly to the stability and prosperity of Hidalgo, and

- 1 it is most fitting that this esteemed Texan be recognized with this
- 2 prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate John David Franz on his selection
- 5 as the 2009 Border Texan of the Year and extend to him sincere best
- 6 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mayor Franz as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Gonzales

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 438 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House