## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Deputy Chief Wilbur Montgomery retired from the
- 2 Mesquite Fire Department on January 30, 2009, drawing to a close a
- 3 notable career in public service that has spanned 35 years; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Chief Montgomery joined the Mesquite Fire
- 5 Department in 1973, and within a year he had earned two letters of
- 6 commendation for volunteering to teach fire safety classes for the
- 7 Mesquite Independent School District; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This outstanding firefighter became a
- 9 driver-engineer in 1977; he was promoted to lieutenant in 1995 and
- 10 to captain four years later; for his exemplary service, he was
- 11 recognized as the 2005 Officer of the Year; and
- WHEREAS, In 2006, Wilbur Montgomery was named deputy chief of
- 13 the EMS Division, and in that capacity he introduced new lifesaving
- 14 equipment, including the Power-Pro stretcher and cardiac monitors;
- 15 he also began the process of implementing electronic patient care
- 16 reporting; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Despite the demanding nature of his work, this
- 18 caring gentleman has also found time to give back to his community
- 19 through his involvement in the Fired Up for Santa program and the
- 20 United Way; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Chief Montgomery's professionalism, dedication to
- 22 his department, and commitment to the public welfare have greatly
- 23 benefited his fellow citizens, and he may indeed reflect with pride
- 24 on a career well spent as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of

- 1 his life; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Deputy Chief Wilbur Montgomery on
- 4 his retirement from the Mesquite Fire Department and extend to him
- 5 sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Chief Montgomery as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Miklos

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 440 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House