RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, National Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day took place on
- 2 February 7, 2009; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This year's event marked the ninth observance of
- 4 this nationwide effort to mobilize African Americans in regard to
- 5 the HIV/AIDS crisis; its goal was to encourage individuals to get
- 6 educated, get tested, get involved in their local community, and,
- 7 when necessary, get treated for this deadly disease; and
- 8 WHEREAS, National Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day was organized
- 9 by a coalition of national advocacy organizations in partnership
- 10 with the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; the
- 11 coalition's goal was to mobilize communities and to address
- 12 specific issues in regard to local epidemics and best practices in
- 13 order to influence the course of HIV among the nation's black
- 14 population; and
- WHEREAS, Creating greater awareness about HIV/AIDS is an
- 16 important priority in minority communities; approximately half of
- 17 all Americans diagnosed with HIV/AIDS are of African descent, and
- 18 it is a leading cause of death for black women aged 25 to 34 and
- 19 black men aged 35 to 44; and
- WHEREAS, National Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day was a notable
- 21 event that represents an important step in the ongoing effort to
- 22 lessen the impact of the disease in Texas and throughout the United
- 23 States; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature commend all those who participated in National Black
- 2 HIV/AIDS Awareness Day on February 7, 2009.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal

Vo

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Martinez

McClendon

McReynolds

McCall

Martinez Fischer

Fletcher

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 441 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House