H.R. No. 447

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Author Harold Fickett of Nacogdoches has made a
significant contribution to the public discourse about religious
faith and Christianity through his books and articles; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fickett earned his bachelor's degree summa cum laude from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1975 and his master's degree in creative writing from Brown University in 1978; he has also studied at the Graduate Theological Union in Berkeley; and

WHEREAS, A published author of both fiction and nonfiction, 9 Mr. Fickett has written a volume of short stories, Mrs. Sunday's 10 11 Problem and Other Stories, and several novels, including The Holy 12 Fool, First Light, and Daybreak; his book The Living Christ combines journalism with theological reflection, and he has 13 14 collaborated with Charles Colson on a number of works, including the 2008 book, The Faith; Mr. Fickett has also written biographies 15 of the author Flannery O'Connor and the humanitarian Albert 16 Schweitzer; and 17

WHEREAS, A man of strong faith, Mr. Fickett has shared his beliefs as cofounder of *Image: Art, Faith, Mystery*, a journal showcasing religious artists, and he is an associate editor of *GodSpy*, an online Catholic magazine that provides thoughtful commentary on contemporary events and culture; he has published widely in the secular media as well, including the *National Review* and the online magazines *Salon* and *Slate*; and

1

H.R. No. 447

1 WHEREAS, An experienced educator, Mr. Fickett has taught 2 English at Wheaton College, St. John's Seminary College, Friends 3 University, and Kansas Newman College; he served as executive 4 director of the Milton Center at KNC, and in that role he instituted 5 a postgraduate fellows program and established the Glen Workshop, a 6 yearly conference for Christian writers; and

7 WHEREAS, In Nacogdoches, this esteemed gentleman serves as 8 chair of the board of Regents Academy, where he also teaches the 9 capstone humanities course to seniors as a volunteer; in addition, 10 he serves his community as a lay catechist at the Catholic Student 11 Center at Stephen F. Austin State University and as chair of the 12 community council; and

13 WHEREAS, For more than 30 years, this thought-provoking and 14 prolific author has both written about current events and explored 15 profound mysteries of faith, and in so doing, he has enriched his 16 community and the culture at large; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 18 Legislature hereby commend Harold Fickett for his literary 19 achievements, his influence on contemporary culture, and his 20 contributions to his community and extend to him sincere best 21 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Fickett as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Christian

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 447

H.R. No. 447

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 447 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House