RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of El Paso are gathering at the 2 State Capitol on February 17, 2009, to celebrate El Paso Day, and 3 the event provides a perfect occasion to recognize the dynamism of 4 this great Texas city; and

5 WHEREAS, Anchoring the far west corner of the state, where 6 the United States and Mexico come together, El Paso boasts a 7 colorful history informed by the mingling of many cultures and 8 customs, each of which has contributed greatly to the city's status 9 as a thriving international metropolis; and

10 WHEREAS, Native Americans dwelt for centuries in this harsh 11 desert beside the Rio Grande; in 1581, members of the 12 Rodriguez-Sanchez expedition named a pass between two mountain 13 ranges El Paso del Norte, and the first permanent Spanish colony was 14 founded near present-day San Elizario by Juan de Onate in 1598; and

15 WHEREAS, For the next two centuries, El Paso remained part of 16 the Spanish empire, and then, after 1821, part of Mexico; the 17 complex community of Europeans, mestizos, and Indians along the Rio 18 Grande became an important junction on the Camino Real; and

WHEREAS, After the end of the Mexican-American War in 1848, El Paso became a part of the United States, leading to the growth of Anglo settlements along the north bank of the Rio Grande and laying the foundations for the multicultural character of the city; and

23 WHEREAS, El Paso welcomed the arrival of the railroad in 24 1881, and within a decade, a dusty village of some 700 inhabitants

1

1 was transformed into a western boomtown of more than 10,000; during 2 this tumultuous era, El Paso was known as the "Six Shooter Capital," 3 a place teeming with cattlemen, gamblers, and gunfighters, 4 including such famous figures as lawman Pat Garrett and outlaw John 5 Wesley Hardin; and

6 WHEREAS, By the early 20th century, reform-minded citizens 7 had curbed much of El Paso's wildness; over 77,000 individuals 8 called El Paso home by 1925, and the metropolitan area now has about 9 700,000 residents; its proximity to Ciudad Juarez, its sister city 10 across the Rio Grande, gives the two cities the distinction of being 11 one of the largest population centers on any international border 12 in the world; and

WHEREAS, For more than a century, the presence of Fort Bliss 13 14 has contributed to the city's proud military tradition and vibrant 15 economy; today, El Paso is the focal point of an annual \$50 billion in trade between the United States and Mexico; long known as the 16 17 home of such famous brands as Tony Lama Boots, El Paso's diverse economy includes agriculture, textiles, tourism, the manufacture 18 19 of cement and other building materials, and the refining of metals 20 and petroleum; and

21 WHEREAS, The 1966 Texas Western College basketball team, featuring the first-ever all-black starting lineup in college 22 23 athletic history and led by the legendary Coach Don "The Bear" 24 Haskins, won the 1966 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship; their achievement helped to break down racial 25 26 barriers in sports and inspired the movie Glory Road; and

27 WHEREAS, The city provides myriad opportunities for higher

2

education through The University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso Community College, and the El Paso campus of Howard Payne University; further bolstering the city's appeal are such cultural attractions as the El Paso Museum of Art, the El Paso Symphony Orchestra, the El Paso Museum of History, and the Fort Bliss Museum, as well as two professional sporting teams, the El Paso Diablos baseball team and the El Paso Patriots soccer team; and

8 WHEREAS, This lively city has been the birthplace and home of many remarkable Americans, including Supreme Court justice Sandra 9 10 Day O'Connor, Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry, Tonight Show producer Rudy Tellez, artist and muralist Tom Lea, actors Gilbert 11 12 Roland, Debbie Reynolds, Thomas Haden Church, and Academy Award winner F. Murray Abraham, singers Phil Ochs, Bobby Fuller, and 13 14 Florencia Bisenta de Casillas Martinez Cardona, better known as 15 Vikki Carr, disc jockey Steve Crosno, and rock bands At the Drive-In, Sparta, and Grammy Award winner The Mars Volta; and 16

17 WHEREAS, Ysleta del Sur Pueblo, settled by members of the Tiqua tribe, is considered the oldest community in Texas; 18 its 19 tribal council is the oldest ongoing governmental entity in the state and has been recognized by Spain, Mexico, and the United 20 21 States; the tribe has established itself as an important contributor to the economy of El Paso, owning and operating tribal 22 businesses that benefit its members, its business partners, and 23 24 area citizens; and

25 WHEREAS, Living in a dramatic setting, where urban energy 26 meets the severe beauty of the desert, the citizens of El Paso may 27 take great pride in the knowledge that their community has

3

H.R. No. 448 1 contributed immeasurably to the vitality of the Lone Star State; 2 now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 17, 2009, as El Paso Day at 5 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 6 best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable visit to Austin.

> Chavez Pickett Quintanilla Moody Marquez

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 448

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 448 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House