## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Shepard Elementary School in Plano was named a 2008
- 2 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School, the highest national
- 3 designation a school can receive; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created by the
- 5 U.S. Department of Education in 1982 and was redesigned in 2002
- 6 under the No Child Left Behind Act; to qualify for nomination,
- 7 schools must demonstrate academic superiority within their state or
- 8 show dramatic gains in student achievement; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Previously selected as a No Child Left Behind--Blue
- 10 Ribbon School in 1992, Shepard Elementary was one of only 26 schools
- 11 in Texas to receive this prestigious award in 2008; this notable
- 12 institution has an enrollment of more than 400 students and it
- 13 operates by the motto, "We put our children first"; skillfully led
- 14 by principal Mary Spickler and assistant principal Chris Dunkle,
- 15 Shepard Elementary has obtained the exemplary rating from the Texas
- 16 Education Agency as well as the City of Plano Recycling Award;
- 17 moreover, the pupils at Shepard Elementary have earned distinction
- 18 for successful science fairs, poetry and writing contests, and
- 19 Odyssey of the Mind competitions; and
- WHEREAS, Through commitment, hard work, and perseverance,
- 21 the teachers and students of Shepard Elementary School have
- 22 accomplished a record of academic excellence, and their outstanding
- 23 achievements were duly recognized with this Blue Ribbon School
- 24 designation; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Shepard Elementary School on its selection
- 3 as a 2008 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School and extend to its
- 4 teachers, students, and staff sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Shepard Elementary School as an expression of high
- 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McCall

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 451 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House