RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Naoma and M. Allen Anderson Elementary School in
- 2 Plano was named a 2008 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School, the
- 3 highest national designation a school can receive; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created by the
- 5 U.S. Department of Education in 1982 and was redesigned in 2002
- 6 under the No Child Left Behind Act; to qualify for nomination,
- 7 schools must demonstrate academic superiority within their state or
- 8 show dramatic gains in student achievement; and
- 9 WHEREAS, One of only 26 schools in the state to receive this
- 10 prestigious award, Anderson Elementary has a current enrollment of
- 11 more than 600 students in kindergarten through the fifth grade;
- 12 skillfully led by principal Teresa Wilkinson, this notable
- 13 institution follows the motto, "Believe! Achieve! Succeed!"; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Through commitment, hard work, and perseverance,
- 15 the teachers and students of Anderson Elementary have attained a
- 16 record in which they may take justifiable pride, and their
- 17 outstanding achievements were duly recognized with this Blue Ribbon
- 18 School designation; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby honor Naoma and M. Allen Anderson Elementary
- 21 School on its selection as a 2008 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon
- 22 School and extend to its teachers, students, and staff sincere best
- 23 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for Anderson Elementary School as an expression of high
- 2 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McCall

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 452 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House