RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Civic-minded women from across the Lone Star State
- 2 are gathering in Austin on April 16, 2009, to celebrate Texas
- 3 Federation of Republican Women Day at the Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Texas Federation of Republican Women was
- 5 established in San Antonio in October 1955; with more than 300
- 6 delegates present, the organizing convention was led by Mrs.
- 7 Malcolm Milburn, and it resulted in the election of Mrs. R. D.
- 8 O'Callaghan as the first president; in the 53 years since its
- 9 inception, the organization's membership has grown to include more
- 10 than 10,000 participants in 167 chapters throughout Texas; and
- 11 WHEREAS, With the goals of educating women on the political
- 12 process, electing Republican candidates, and encouraging women to
- 13 run for office, TFRW produces quarterly publications and hosts
- 14 regular meetings that cover such issues as health, crime, and the
- 15 economy; the organization also works closely with the Republican
- 16 Party to train volunteers and provide support for local and
- 17 statewide campaigns; and
- 18 WHEREAS, This notable organization embodies a spirit of
- 19 public engagement, and its members may indeed reflect with great
- 20 pride on the exemplary model of citizenship they have set for their
- 21 fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize April 16, 2009, as Texas Federation of
- 24 Republican Women Day at the Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the

1 members of the organization who are visiting on this day.

Harless

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 454 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House