RESOLUTION

1

24

WHEREAS, On February 17, 2009, our esteemed colleague Harold 2 V. Dutton, Jr., is celebrating his 64th birthday, making this the perfect occasion to recognize his outstanding record of service to 3 the people of House District 142 and to all Texans; and 4 5 WHEREAS, A native of Houston's Fifth Ward, Representative Dutton is a graduate of Phillis Wheatley High School; he earned his 6 7 bachelor's degree in accounting from Texas Southern University, where he has since been honored as a Distinguished Alumnus by the 8 School of Business; he received his law degree from the Thurgood 9 Marshall School of Law and is now a member of the school's adjunct 10 11 faculty; and WHEREAS, In his professional life, Representative Dutton has 12 made his mark as executive director of the Julia C. Hester House, as 13 14 a corporate planner and economic analyst for Conoco, as president of Four Star Broadcasting, and as an attorney specializing in civil 15 rights and employment discrimination; he is a member of the Texas 16 Bar Association, the Houston Bar Association, the Texas Trial 17 Lawyers Association, and the American Association for Justice; and 18 WHEREAS, Representative Dutton's numerous 19 legislative 20 accomplishments include sponsoring the first statutory program in 21 Texas to assist women-owned and minority-owned businesses, enhancing public education, and creating incentives to increase the 22 23 availability and affordability of insurance in traditionally

underserved areas; furthermore, he has sponsored legislation that

H.R. No. 456

- 1 has enabled former offenders to regain the right to vote after
- 2 serving their sentences, strengthened the right of parents to
- 3 discipline their children, revamped the juvenile justice system,
- 4 and established the state's annual tax holiday; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Frequently honored for his accomplishments,
- 6 Representative Dutton was named an Outstanding Young Man of America
- 7 early in his career, and he has been lauded by the Houston Forward
- 8 Times, the Houston Police Officers Association, the American Civil
- 9 Liberties Union, the Texas Women's Political Caucus, the Harris
- 10 County Deputy Sheriffs' Association, the Afro American Sheriff's
- 11 Deputy League, the *Hispanic Journal*, and the U.S. Small Business
- 12 Administration; he is a member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity and a
- 13 32nd degree Mason; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Harold Dutton, Jr., has made many significant
- 15 contributions to the work of this chamber through his 13 terms in
- 16 office, and as he prepares to celebrate his birthday, it is indeed
- 17 appropriate to honor him for his service; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Harold V. Dutton,
- 20 Jr., on the occasion of his 64th birthday and extend to him sincere
- 21 best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Representative Dutton as an expression of high regard
- 24 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Turner of Harris

H.R. No. 456

Straus Geren Merritt Allen Giddings Miklos Miller of Comal Alonzo Gonzales Alvarado Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Moody Gutierrez Anderson Morrison Hamilton Aycock Naishtat Berman Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bohac Olivo Bolton Harless Orr Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Bonnen Hartnett Branch Otto Brown of Kaufman Heflin Parker Brown of Brazos Hernandez Patrick Burnam Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Button Pena Hochberg Callegari Phillips Castro Hodge Pickett Homer Chavez Pierson Chisum Hopson Pitts Christian Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Howard of Travis Cohen Raymond Hughes Coleman Riddle Cook Hunter Rios Ybarra Corte Isett Ritter Jackson Rodriguez Crabb Craddick Rose Jones Sheffield Creighton Keffer Kent Shelton Crownover King of Parker King of Taylor Smith of Tarrant Darby Smith of Harris Davis of Harris King of Zavala Davis of Dallas Smithee Deshotel Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Taylor Dunnam Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Lucio III Turner of Tarrant Elkins Turner of Harris England Madden Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Flores Martinez Fischer Walle McCall Weber Flynn McClendon Woolley Frost Gallego McReynolds Zerwas

Menendez

Gattis

H.R. No. 456

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 456 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House