H.R. No. 460

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize February 17, 2009, as Viva San Antonio Day at the State 3 Capitol and welcome the visiting delegation from the Alamo City; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, The history of San Antonio can be traced back to 6 1691, when a group of Spanish explorers and missionaries came upon a 7 river and named it San Antonio, in honor of St. Anthony, whose feast 8 day was being celebrated; and

9 WHEREAS, The city was founded in 1718 by Father Antonio 10 Olivares; he established Mission San Antonio de Valero, which would 11 become etched in the annals of history in 1836 as the Alamo, the 12 site where 189 brave individuals held the mission for 13 days 13 against an army of some 4,000 Mexican soldiers; and

WHEREAS, The cry "Remember the Alamo" became the rallying point of the Texas Revolution; today, the Alamo is a shrine and museum and is widely recognized as the cradle of Texas liberty; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio became formally incorporated in 1837, 17 when the fledgling Republic of Texas granted the city a charter; the 18 city has since retained its sense of history and tradition while 19 20 carefully blending in cosmopolitan progress; it has served and 21 continues to serve as a crossroads and a meeting place, where the rich sounds and flavors of Native Americans, Old Mexico, Germans, 22 23 the Wild West, African Americans, and the Deep South mingle and 24 merge; and

H.R. No. 460

WHEREAS, The city has a proud military heritage; great 1 military figures like Pershing, Stilwell, Krueger, LeMay, 2 3 Chennault, and Eisenhower served at San Antonio military institutions, including Fort Sam Houston, the headquarters for the 4 5 Fifth U.S. Army and the home of the U.S. Army Medical Command and the Brooke Army Medical Center; in addition, San Antonio is the site 6 of Lackland Air Force Base, the largest training wing in the U.S. 7 8 Air Force, and Brooks City-Base, an innovative master-planned research and technology center; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Recent years have brought remarkable economic 11 development to San Antonio as its skilled workforce, excellent 12 institutions of public and higher education, and quality of life 13 have attracted some important corporate business and industry to 14 the city; and

15 WHEREAS, Millions of visitors a year delight in the discovery of San Antonio; in addition to the Alamo, highlights include La 16 17 Villita, San Fernando Cathedral, San Antonio Missions Trail, and the famed Paseo del Rio, better known as "The Riverwalk"; among the 18 19 other attractions that make San Antonio one of the top tourist destinations in the country are SeaWorld San Antonio and the Six 20 Flags Fiesta Texas theme park as well as the PGA Tour Valero Texas 21 Open, the Alamo Bowl, and the four-time world champion San Antonio 22 23 Spurs; and

24 WHEREAS, In April 2009, the city will once again celebrate 25 Fiesta San Antonio, the biggest 10-day party in the state; first 26 held 118 years ago, the event was founded by a group of ladies who 27 decorated horse-drawn carriages for a parade in front of the Alamo

1 and battled with flower blossoms instead of bullets to honor the 2 heroes of the Alamo and the Battle of San Jacinto; and

3 WHEREAS, San Antonio is truly one of the treasures of the Lone
4 Star State, and Viva San Antonio Day provides a welcome opportunity
5 to honor the city and its many fine residents; now, therefore, be it
6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
7 Legislature hereby recognize February 17, 2009, as Viva San Antonio
8 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the visiting
9 delegation best wishes for a memorable visit.

Corte

H.R. No. 460

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 460

H.R. No. 460

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 460 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House