RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A landmark institution in the Fayette County 2 business community commemorates a milestone in 2009 as Koenig & 3 Strickland Funeral Home celebrates its centennial; and WHEREAS, The company was founded in May 1909 by August 4 5 Koenig, one of the state's first licensed embalmers; in 1924, Mr. Koenig formed a partnership with Louis H. Mueller, and the business 6 7 they operated in downtown La Grange was originally known as Koenig and Mueller Funeral Directors and Embalmers; it was renamed Koenig 8 Funeral Home in 1928, when Gilbert Koenig, August Koenig's son, 9 bought Mr. Mueller's stake in the company; Gilbert Koenig went on to 10 direct the funeral home for 40 years and also won several 11 12 appointments and elections, serving 19 years on the La Grange City Council, a two-year term as the city's mayor, and three years as 13 14 chair of the State Board of Morticians; and 15 WHEREAS, In 1977, Gilbert Koenig sold the business to Billy 16 Peel, who operated it as the Koenig-Peel Funeral Home; in 1997, it became the Koenig & Strickland Funeral Home, and the enterprise now 17 includes three satellite offices, Jecmenek Chapel in Ellinger, 18 Knesek Chapel in Fayetteville, and Zaskoda Chapel in Industry, in 19 20 addition to the main location in La Grange; although a 1999 fire 21 claimed the iconic Art Deco building that once housed the La Grange 22 location, the company rebuilt on the footprint of the original 23 structure and remains a respected member of the city's business 24 community; and

WHEREAS, Coinciding with the firm's centennial is the 1 appointment of a new general manager, Robert J. Falcon, who draws on 2 more than two decades of experience in the funeral industry; under his direction, Koenig & Strickland is beginning its second century 4 of providing dedicated service to the communities that it serves, 5 6 and this venerable company is indeed deserving of recognition 7 during this momentous anniversary year; now, therefore, be it 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby honor Koenig & Strickland Funeral Home on the 9 occasion of its centennial and extend to the management and staff 10 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for the company as an expression of high regard by the 13 Texas House of Representatives. 14

Kleinschmidt

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 469 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House