RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas are

gathering in Austin on February 17, 2009, to participate in

3 Sheriffs' Association of Texas Day at the State Capitol; and

4 WHEREAS, The Texas Constitution created the office of sheriff

5 in each county of the state; legislation requires that a sheriff

6 conserve the peace and enforce the criminal laws of the state; the

7 sheriff is also responsible for the county jail, bail bonds, civil

8 process, and the security of the courts; in some smaller counties,

9 the sheriff may also act as the tax collector; and

2

11

13

10 WHEREAS, The Sheriffs' Association of Texas is one of the

nation's oldest law enforcement organizations; the first meeting of

12 this esteemed organization took place on August 14, 1874, when

members adopted a preamble calling for sheriffs to assist one

14 another in the execution of the law, in the discharge of their

15 duties against criminals, and in the protection of the citizens of

16 their respective counties and throughout the state; the association

17 has continued to pursue this mission; and

18 WHEREAS, The sheriffs of the 254 counties of Texas are

19 elected to four-year terms, and each sheriff is a member of the

20 Sheriffs' Association of Texas; more than 2,500 individuals are

21 active members, while more than 45,000 are associate members; and

WHEREAS, For more than 130 years, the members of the

23 Sheriffs' Association of Texas have dedicated themselves to

24 ensuring the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Lone Star

- 1 State, and this special day provides an opportunity for the state to
- 2 pay tribute to these law enforcement professionals; now, therefore,
- 3 be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 17, 2009, as Sheriffs'
- 6 Association of Texas Day at the State Capitol and commend the
- 7 members of the association for their many contributions to our
- 8 state; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the Sheriffs' Association of Texas as an expression of
- 11 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Miklos Alonzo Giddings Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 476 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House