RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Leadership Highland Lakes are visiting
- 2 the State Capitol on April 8, 2009; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Currently in its fourth year of operation,
- 4 Leadership Highland Lakes was created to educate and inspire the
- 5 future leaders of the region; this exceptional program provides
- 6 opportunities for area residents to increase their knowledge of
- 7 public issues and to meet with the legislators and local officials
- 8 who are making decisions that affect this state; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Participants attend monthly sessions, where they
- 10 are introduced to guest speakers and engage in thoughtful
- 11 discussions, and they take field trips to many of the key facilities
- 12 and landmarks in the region; through such in-depth exposure,
- 13 participants come to recognize the critical needs of the community,
- 14 as well as the tools they will need to respond to them; they also
- 15 meet experts in a variety of fields and learn about the local
- 16 resources that are available to them; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Leadership Highland Lakes encourages citizens to
- 18 become more involved in the growth and direction of their
- 19 community, and in so doing, it contributes to the future leadership
- 20 of the Lone Star State and helps to ensure a bright and prosperous
- 21 future for its residents; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize April 8, 2009, as Leadership Highland
- 24 Lakes Legislative Day at the State Capitol and extend to the

- 1 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for continued success with
- 2 their important work; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Aycock

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 479 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House