RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Leadership Texas, a program of the Foundation for
- 2 Women's Resources, has helped to build confident, informed women
- 3 leaders for more than a quarter-century; and
- WHEREAS, Established in 1983, Leadership Texas is the
- 5 longest-running program of its kind in the nation; inspiring the
- 6 spirit of activism, the course addresses a number of vital issues
- 7 that shape our society, while providing valuable networking
- 8 opportunities and support from more than 3,000 graduates; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Representing rural and urban areas, Leadership
- 10 Texas participants are corporate executives, educators, community
- 11 leaders, health professionals, artists, entrepreneurs, and others;
- 12 they come from a diversity of backgrounds and personal experiences
- 13 and study a wide range of topics, including technology, education,
- 14 government, the environment, and the economy; and
- WHEREAS, Working to foster a more informed and involved
- 16 citizenry, Leadership Texas is helping to build a brighter and more
- 17 promising future for the Lone Star State, and all involved with this
- 18 notable endeavor merit special commendation; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby honor the Foundation for Women's Resources
- 21 Leadership Texas program and extend to its participants sincere
- 22 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas

1 House of Representatives.

Giddings

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 485 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House