RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Locally owned and operated businesses are essential
- 2 to the vitality of the Lone Star State, and one such enterprise,
- 3 Johnny Cace's Seafood and Steak House in Longview, has been
- 4 enhancing life in its community for 60 proud years; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Founded in 1949 by Johnny Cace, the restaurant
- 6 features Cace family Creole recipes, served in a New Orleans-style
- 7 atmosphere; the restaurant originally seated 37 people in a rented
- 8 location in downtown Longview, and it was later expanded at the same
- 9 location to seat 200; Mr. Cace moved the restaurant in 1964 to a new
- 10 building on U.S. Highway 80, where it has since grown to accommodate
- 11 450 diners; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Now owned and operated by Mr. Cace's son Gerard and
- 13 his wife, Cathy, the restaurant continues to specialize in New
- 14 Orleans-style cuisine; Mr. and Mrs. Cace have opened two more
- 15 locations, in San Antonio and Tyler, and they have been joined in
- 16 the business by their daughter, Chelsea; Mr. Cace is also president
- 17 of the Texas Restaurant Association; and
- 18 WHEREAS, For six decades, Johnny Cace's Seafood and Steak
- 19 House has benefited Longview residents and visitors alike, and
- 20 Gerard and Cathy Cace may take great pride in having maintained the
- 21 restaurant's longstanding tradition of excellence; now, therefore,
- 22 be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Gerard and Cathy Cace on the 60th

- 1 anniversary of Johnny Cace's Seafood and Steak House and extend to
- 2 them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- $4\,\,$ prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Cace as an expression of high regard by
- 5 the Texas House of Representatives.

Merritt

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 490 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House