RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, After nearly three decades of outstanding public

1

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

lasting contributions to

2 service, Maria del Carmen Botello Gutierrez retired from the Texas Department of Transportation on August 31, 2008; and 3 WHEREAS, Carmen Gutierrez was born in Laredo, but 4 5 relocated to Del Rio at an early age; she joined the Del Rio maintenance section of the Texas Department of Transportation in 6 7 October 1979, shortly after graduating from high school; from her first position as a maintenance technician, Ms. Gutierrez was 8 9 promoted to positions of greater responsibility, and in 1993, she became a district superintendent; by this time, she had also earned 10 11 an associate's degree in business management from Southwest Texas 12 Junior College, where she was president of the Alpha Omega Iota chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society; and 13 14 WHEREAS, In 1999, Ms. Gutierrez became the first female in agency's history to be appointed to district equipment 15 16 administrator, and in this role, she oversaw preventive maintenance

maintenance campaigns to promote vehicle and operator safety, launched a vehicle identification program that was later incorporated into the TxDOT equipment operations manual, and produced safety training videos; in addition, she helped develop a hydraulic configuration for statewide use, and she was praised by

and equipment safety for eight counties; throughout her tenure, she

traveled across Texas representing the Laredo district and made

TxDOT;

she

initiated preventive

- 1 the occupational safety division for her role in designing a new
- 2 stepladder for trailers; she also introduced awards to recognize
- 3 the exemplary preventive maintenance efforts of individuals
- 4 working in various sections; despite her busy professional life,
- 5 Ms. Gutierrez enrolled in the agency's tuition assistance program
- 6 and graduated magna cum laude from Sul Ross State University in
- 7 2005, with a bachelor's degree in business administration; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan has been affiliated with a
- 9 number of organizations, including the Del Rio Chamber of Commerce,
- 10 the Texas Public Employees Association, and the American Federation
- 11 of State, County, and Municipal Employees; she became certified as
- 12 a Texas purchaser and an election worker, and she completed the
- 13 Border Patrol Citizens Academy in 2008; moreover, she has served
- 14 her community as a volunteer with Safe Kids Val Verde County and the
- 15 Andale Del Rio community health fair, as a reading tutor, and as a
- 16 board member of the St. Henry de Osso Family Project, and she has
- 17 remained active in her church as a catechist and lector; in all of
- 18 her endeavors, she has enjoyed the love and support of her husband,
- 19 Ruben, and the couple's two children, Ruben James and Carmen
- 20 Christina; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Carmen Gutierrez demonstrated the utmost
- 22 professionalism and dedication throughout her career, and she may
- 23 indeed reflect with great pride on her achievements and on the
- 24 service she has rendered to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be
- 25 it
- 26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 27 Legislature hereby honor Maria del Carmen Botello Gutierrez on her

- 1 retirement from the Texas Department of Transportation and extend
- 2 to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Ms. Gutierrez as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 494 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House