RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Leslee Graham, a sixth-grade teacher at Howell
- 2 Middle School in Victoria, has been recognized with a Wal-Mart
- 3 Teacher of the Year Award; and
- WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Wal-Mart Foundation, the Teacher of
- 5 the Year Awards honor exemplary teachers across the nation; each
- 6 Wal-Mart store selects a local winner from a pool of teachers
- 7 nominated by their students; more than 30,000 teachers have been
- 8 recognized since the program began in the mid-1990s; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A native of Victoria, Leslee Graham graduated magna
- 10 cum laude from Victoria High School in 1982 and received an
- 11 associate of science degree with high honors from The Victoria
- 12 College in 1986; she subsequently earned her bachelor's degree in
- 13 mathematics with a minor in English from the University of
- 14 Houston--Victoria in 1988; and
- WHEREAS, This outstanding educator began her teaching career
- 16 at Edna Junior High School in Edna, where she taught seventh- and
- 17 eighth-grade math and eighth-grade English; and
- WHEREAS, After 10 years in Edna, Ms. Graham accepted a post
- 19 with the Victoria Independent School District where she has now
- 20 worked for more than a decade; during that period, she has taught
- 21 algebra at Victoria High School and the Stroman campus of Memorial
- 22 High School, and for the past seven years she has practiced her
- 23 craft at Howell Middle School, where she currently teaches
- 24 sixth-grade English; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Leslee Graham has earned the lasting respect of her
- 2 students and colleagues, and she is indeed deserving of
- 3 commendation for her dedication, hard work, and commitment to
- 4 excellence; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Leslee Graham for receiving a
- 7 Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year Award and extend to her sincere best
- 8 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Ms. Graham as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.

Morrison

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 497 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House