## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Alan W. Dreeben of San Antonio has been selected to 2 receive the first Chairman's Award from the Texas State University System, and he is being honored at the TSUS Legislative Day Luncheon 3 on February 18, 2009; and 4 WHEREAS, The Chairman's Award recognizes extraordinary 5 contributions to the Texas State University System and/or its 6 7 component institutions through service, time, and financial 8 resources; and WHEREAS, Mr. Dreeben is a former chair of the TSUS Board of 9

Regents, which he served from 2001 to 2007; during that time, the 10 11 TSUS Foundation established the Grow Your Own Scholarship program 12 to increase faculty diversity and provide mentoring models for students; Mr. Dreeben has since become one of the program's most 13 14 generous supporters, funding up to six scholarships, and he has

also donated significantly to TSUS component institutions; and 15 WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at Austin and 16 Harvard University, where he earned an Executive MBA, Mr. Dreeben 17 is the vice chair of Block Distributing and Republic Beverage; his 18 longstanding dedication to higher education has been demonstrated 19 by his service as a development board member of The University of 20 21 Texas at San Antonio, as a trustee of the University of the 22 Incarnate Word and Trinity University, and as a member of the 23 advisory council for The UT-Austin McCombs School of Business; and 24 WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman has further distinguished

- 1 himself through his involvement with such noteworthy organizations
- 2 as the McNay Art Museum, the United Way, the Bexar County Federation
- 3 of Schools, the American Cancer Society, and the Santa Rosa
- 4 Children's Hospital Foundation; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Demonstrating great commitment to his fellow
- 6 Texans, Alan Dreeben has set an inspiring example of civic
- 7 engagement and philanthropy, and it is indeed fitting to join in
- 8 honoring his notable contributions to the Texas State University
- 9 System; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Alan W. Dreeben on his receipt of
- 12 the Chairman's Award from the Texas State University System and
- 13 extend to him deep appreciation for his many good works; and, be it
- 14 further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Mr. Dreeben as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Straus

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 498 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House