H.R. No. 500

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Nicholas David Heston of Boy Scouts of America Troop
401 in Helotes has attained the rank of Eagle Scout, and this
accomplishment truly merits special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant 4 5 honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding 6 criteria, Mr. Heston earned the requisite 21 merit badges, 7 including those requiring expertise in such diverse areas as 8 9 geology, space exploration, and fingerprinting, and successfully completed an Eagle Scout project that consisted of providing quilts 10 11 to a local children's shelter; and

WHEREAS, The son of Janis Painter, this fine young Texan has demonstrated outstanding leadership ability throughout his scouting career, serving as a troop guide and scribe and winning the respect of his fellow scouts as he worked toward the highest rank that scouting offers; moreover, as a Cub Scout, Mr. Heston earned the Arrow of Light Award; and

WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Heston's dedication to excellence and his perseverance in the pursuit of his goals have proven him worthy to stand among scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Nicholas David Heston on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout and extend to him sincere best wishes for

1

H.R. No. 500

1 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for Mr. Heston as an expression of high regard by the Texas 4 House of Representatives.

Leibowitz

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 500

H.R. No. 500

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 500 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House