## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Cotton has ranked as one of the most important crops
- 2 in Texas for a century and a half, and in 1997, the 75th Legislature
- 3 named it the official fiber and fabric of the Lone Star State; and
- WHEREAS, Introduced to Texas by Spanish missionaries, cotton
- 5 soared in production between 1850 and 1900, when it reached more
- 6 than 3.4 million bales; contributing to the expansion were the
- 7 opening of new lands for cultivation, the extension of the
- 8 railroad, and the influx of thousands of immigrants from the Deep
- 9 South and from Europe; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The State of Texas has been the home of a number of
- 11 major innovations in the cotton industry; Robert S. Munger
- 12 developed an automated system ginning process in Mexia in 1884, and
- 13 in 1980 the country's first high-volume instrument cotton-classing
- 14 office opened in Lamesa; and
- WHEREAS, Approximately one-third of all the cotton harvested
- 16 in the United States is grown in Texas, and the state usually ranks
- 17 first among all the states in cotton production; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The history of Texas cannot be told without taking
- 19 into account the enormous role that cotton has played in the
- 20 development of the state, and the crop continues to provide the
- 21 livelihood of thousands of Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize March 3, 2009, as Cotton Day at the
- 24 State Capitol and extend to all those associated with the industry

- 1 and who are present here today sincere best wishes for an enjoyable
- 2 and memorable visit.

Heflin

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 504 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House