RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Benjamin Nicholas Hughes of Boy Scouts of America
- 2 Troop No. 102 in College Station has attained the rank of Eagle
- 3 Scout, and this accomplishment was duly recognized at a Court of
- 4 Honor on February 8, 2009; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant
- 6 honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the
- 7 scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding
- 8 criteria, Ben Hughes earned 39 merit badges and, for his Eagle Scout
- 9 project, coordinated the construction of a memorial terrace for the
- 10 College of Agriculture and Life Sciences on the Texas A&M
- 11 University campus; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Hughes has demonstrated outstanding leadership
- 13 ability throughout his scouting career, serving his fellow scouts
- 14 in the roles of senior patrol leader, quartermaster, and Order of
- 15 the Arrow troop representative, and he has attended a number of
- 16 advanced scout training programs in Texas, New Mexico, and
- 17 Oklahoma; and
- WHEREAS, A student at A&M Consolidated High School, Mr.
- 19 Hughes has participated in varsity golf and the Young Life program;
- 20 he also serves the congregation of St. Thomas Episcopal Church as an
- 21 acolyte and has attended the Episcopal Youth Conference; and
- WHEREAS, This fine young Texan's dedication and perseverance
- 23 in the pursuit of his goals have proven him worthy to stand among
- 24 scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a job well

- 1 done; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Benjamin Nicholas Hughes on
- 4 achieving the rank of Eagle Scout and extend to him sincere best
- 5 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Hughes as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Brown of Brazos Callegari Swinford Chisum

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 507 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House