RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on the Arts has named David
- 2 Mercier Parsons of Conroe a finalist in the competition for state
- 3 poet laureate; and
- WHEREAS, After graduating from Austin High School, Dave
- 5 Parsons went on to serve in the U.S. Marine Corps and to earn a
- 6 bachelor's degree from Texas State University; he worked in
- 7 advertising and marketing until he left the corporate world behind
- 8 to explore his passion for poetry; in 1985, he went abroad to study
- 9 with the writer and National Book Award finalist Stanley Plumly
- 10 through the University of Houston's London program, and he later
- 11 received the National Endowment for the Humanities Dante Fellowship
- 12 to the State University of New York; on returning to Texas, he began
- 13 teaching for the Willis Independent School District, and he resumed
- 14 his studies at the University of Houston, earning a master's degree
- 15 in creative writing and literature in 1991; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Since making the decision to pursue the arts as a
- 17 profession, Mr. Parsons has published four books of poetry, The
- 18 Retail Representative; Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness;
- 19 Editing Sky; and Color of Mourning; his poems have also been
- 20 featured in various journals and magazines, including the Texas
- 21 Review, the Touchstone Literary Review, the New Review Poetry
- 22 Digest, and Louisiana Literature; and
- 23 WHEREAS, In addition to receiving favorable reviews from
- 24 scholarly journals and local newspapers, Mr. Parsons has earned

1 numerous accolades for his writing; in 1989, he won the French/American Legation poetry prize for a piece published in 2 3 Standpoints: The Journal for Teachers of English in France, and in 1998 he was a finalist for the X. J. Kennedy Book Prize; the 4 5 following year, his book Editing Sky was the winner of the Texas Review Poetry Prize and a finalist for the Violet Crown Book Award; 6 Mr. Parsons has also been invited to appear at the Texas Book 7 8 Festival, the Writers League of Texas Author's Gala, the Rice University/University of Houston Reading Series, the Houston and 9 10 Austin Poetry Festivals, and many other events across the state;

11

and

12 WHEREAS, This esteemed poet has further contributed to the arts by encouraging his fellow citizens to embrace and appreciate 13 14 literature; as a creative writing professor, he has cultivated the 15 talents of his students at Lone Star College-Montgomery for the past 17 years; in 1993, he created the Montgomery County Literary 16 17 Arts Council Writers In Performance Series, through which he has helped bring more than 100 distinguished authors to the area for 18 19 free readings and lectures, and he has sponsored events honoring the poets Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman; he has also served on 20 21 the Conroe Commission on the Arts and Culture and the Houston Arts Alliance Panel, and he was selected to teach the poetry workshop for 22 Inprint Inc.; moreover, he was named the Montgomery County poet 23 24 laureate for 2005 through 2010, a role that enables him to continue advancing literary arts in his community; and 25

WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Mr. Parsons enjoys the love and support of his wife, Nancy, and his four children, Robert,

- 1 Laura, Brandy, and Allison; and
- WHEREAS, Through his poetry, teaching, and community
- 3 outreach, Dave Parsons has touched the lives of countless
- 4 individuals, and he may indeed reflect with great pride on the
- 5 positive impact he has had on the arts in Texas; now, therefore, be
- 6 it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby congratulate David Mercier Parsons on his
- 9 nomination for Texas poet laureate and commend him on his
- 10 accomplished literary career; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for Mr. Parsons as an expression of high regard by the
- 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Creighton

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 509 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House