## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the sorrow felt at
- 2 the untimely loss of Charles Andrew Bergfeld, Jr., of Conroe, who
- 3 passed away on December 13, 2008, at the age of 23; and
- WHEREAS, Charles Bergfeld, called "Chase" by his loved ones,
- 5 was born on September 10, 1985, to Chuck and Debbie Bergfeld; he
- 6 graduated from Conroe High School, where he played baseball and was
- 7 captain of the football team; he went on to study construction
- 8 science at Texas A&M University, and he was a valued member of Sigma
- 9 Alpha Epsilon fraternity; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Blessed with a lively personality and irrepressible
- 11 good humor, Chase Bergfeld was a delight to all who knew him; he was
- 12 renowned for his compassion and sense of responsibility, and he
- 13 exhibited his deep concern for others even on the final day of his
- 14 life; and
- WHEREAS, This brave and selfless Texan was honored on
- 16 February 3, 2009, at Silver Taps, the Texas A&M memorial ceremony;
- 17 and
- 18 WHEREAS, With his outgoing nature, Chase Bergfeld brought
- 19 much happiness to those around him, and he set a powerful example in
- 20 the way that he embraced life; although his time on this earth was
- 21 far too brief, memories of time spent in the company of this beloved
- 22 young man will be forever treasured by everyone who held him dear;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Charles Andrew
- 2 Bergfeld, Jr., and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his
- 3 family: to his parents, Chuck and Debbie Bergfeld; to his sister,
- 4 Lauren Michelle Bergfeld; to his grandfathers, Ray McVeigh and Bill
- 5 Bergfeld; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Chase
- 10 Bergfeld.

Creighton

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 510 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House