H.R. No. 511

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 19, 2009, proud residents of Austin 2 County are gathering at the State Capitol to celebrate their 3 county's achievements and unique place in the history of the Lone 4 Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, The area that would become Austin County was one of the locations settled by the initial colonists who were brought to 6 7 Texas by Stephen F. Austin; the first English-language newspaper in Texas, the Gazette, was launched in 1829 in the colony's main town, 8 9 San Felipe de Austin; this settlement played an important part in the Texas Revolution, briefly serving as capital of the provisional 10 11 government; it became the county seat upon the founding of Austin 12 County in 1837 but was soon supplanted by Bellville; and

13 WHEREAS, Beginning in the 1830s, hundreds of German 14 immigrants settled in the county, and this wave of migration accelerated when well-educated dissidents fled Germany following a 15 16 failed revolution in 1848; these residents supported the establishment of an opera house in Bellville, a German-language 17 weekly newspaper, and numerous other elements drawn from 18 traditional German culture; the county's sizeable African American 19 20 forming similar institutions community began during 21 Reconstruction, among them a newspaper and a school for black 22 students; Czech farmers also contributed to the distinctive character of early Austin County, and large numbers of Mexican 23 immigrants began arriving after the First World War; and 24

1

H.R. No. 511

1 WHEREAS, Industrial growth brought prominence to the town of Sealy, which became a commercial center in the late 1800s with such 2 3 manufacturers as the Sealy Mattress Factory and the Engleking Brothers Broom Factory; Sealy is also the hometown of music great 4 Huey Long, a jazz guitarist and original member of the Ink Spots; 5 some of his memorabilia is on display today at the Heritage 6 Park/Santa Fe Park Museum, a fascinating complex that also includes 7 8 an original settler's prairie home, an antique caboose, and the town's old jail; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Tourism has joined agribusiness and manufacturing 11 as a key component of the economy; the county's colorful past 12 provides many splendid attractions and visitors to Stephen F. 13 Austin State Park can view the original site of San Felipe de Austin 14 while enjoying hiking, fishing, and other recreational pursuits; 15 moreover, countless travelers come to Austin County in the spring 16 for the scenic vistas of bluebonnets and other wildflowers; and

WHEREAS, Austin County maintains its pastoral charm and its many links to Texas heritage even as it prepares for the opportunities of the future, and it is most fitting to take this opportunity to honor it; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 19, 2009, as Austin County 23 Day and extend to its delegation sincere best wishes for an 24 enjoyable and rewarding visit to the State Capitol.

Kolkhorst

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 511

H.R. No. 511

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 511 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House