## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Parishioners of Holy Redeemer Catholic Church in San
- 2 Antonio are joining together on February 20, 2009, for their 18th
- 3 annual Mardi Gras celebration; and
- WHEREAS, Established in 1901 through the efforts of the
- 5 Reverend A. J. Dumolin, Holy Redeemer Catholic Church first served
- 6 as a home for elderly, needy, and orphaned African Americans in the
- 7 community; the institution became a day school in 1906 and
- 8 continued to grow through the years, adding a credit union in 1950
- 9 and a new convent in 1960; later, the Sisters of Mercy operated a
- 10 community clinic from the facility; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In 1979, Holy Redeemer was reinstated as a parish,
- 12 and today it remains the only predominantly African American
- 13 Catholic church in the Alamo City; in recent years, members
- 14 celebrated the completion of a new sanctuary, which was dedicated
- 15 by the Archbishop Jose Gomez in May 2006; and
- WHEREAS, This house of worship has been blessed with a number
- 17 of notable priests through the years; members are currently led by
- 18 Father Kevin Fausz, who has provided able guidance over the course
- 19 of his tenure; and
- WHEREAS, For more than a century, Holy Redeemer Catholic
- 21 Church has been a source of strength and inspiration to those who
- 22 have worshipped there, and it stands as a tribute to the faith and
- 23 dedication of its members, both past and present, who have devoted
- 24 their time, prayers, and resources to ensure its continued

- 1 existence; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor Holy Redeemer Catholic Church on its 18th
- 4 annual Mardi Gras celebration and that all those associated with
- 5 this fine institution be extended sincere best wishes for the
- 6 future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 513 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House